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Date: February 9, 2016 
 
To: Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare 
 
From: Kevin J. Robertson, CAE  
 Executive Director 
 
RE: Support of SB 402 – Charity Care 
 
Chairman Pilcher-Cook and members of the committee I am Kevin Robertson, executive 
director of the Kansas Dental Association (KDA) representing some 75% of the state’s 1,532 
licensed dentists.  Thanks for the opportunity to discuss with you the Kansas Dental 
Associations’ thoughts on SB 402.   
 
The Kansas Dental Association (KDA) believes that incentives for healthcare providers to 
provide care to underserved populations can promote increased care and, as such, supports SB 
402 with the addition of dentists.    
 
The Kansas Charitable Healthcare Provider Act limits the liability of healthcare providers who 
volunteer for specific charitable events.  Should the Committee agree to add dentists to SB 402, 
charitable dental work performed by a dentist conducted in places like a local health 
department, community health center, federally qualified health center and the Kansas Mission 
of Mercy would be included.  In 2012, the KDA introduced successful legislation to expand the 
Charitable Healthcare Provider Act to allow dentists that do organized charitable dental events 
in their office to receive the liability protections contained in the Act to encourage more 
innovative charity events.  SB 402 does not include donated services that are not part of an 
organized event or simply delivered in the dental office.   
 
The Pew Charitable Trust estimates that dentists provide an average of $33,000 in free care 
each year.  When multiplied by the number of dentists practicing in Kansas (1,532) that comes 
to over $50 million gratis care provided by Kansas dentists!  As we discussed two weeks ago, 
the KDA, through its affiliated foundation, the Kansas Dental Charitable Foundation, has 
provided $15 million in dental care to 27,000 Kansans across the state through its annual 
Kansas Mission of Mercy (KMOM) free dental clinic.  In addition, the KDA is celebrating the 20th 
anniversary of its partnership with the with the Dental Lifeline Network which began in 1996 to 
develop a Donated Dental Services (DDS) program to help Kansas residents with disabilities or 
who are elderly or medically fragile and have no other access to dental care. The Kansas DDS 
program, through its volunteer dentists and labs have, donated over $10 million of 
comprehensive treatment for 3,127 vulnerable people since its inception. 
 
Below is a draft amendment to include dentists in SB 402 by amending KSA 65-1431 (d) as 
follows:    
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 (d) The board shall require every licensee to submit with the renewal 
application evidence of satisfactory completion of a program of continuing 
education required by the board. The board by duly adopted rules and 
regulations shall establish the requirements for such program of continuing 
education as soon as possible after the effective date of this act. 
 
A dentist who is charitable healthcare provider in Kansas who has signed an 
agreement to provide gratuitous services pursuant to K.S.A. 75-6102 and 75-
6120, and amendments thereto, may fulfill one hour of continuing education 
credit by the performance of two hours of gratuitous services to eligible low 
income patients up to a maximum of six continuing education credits per 
licensure period.  
 
The board shall provide a measurement report annually, starting on January 15, 
2018, to the senate committee on public health and welfare and the house 
committee on health and human services detailing by profession the number of 
gratuitous continuing education units used, compared to the number of 
continuous education units required.  

 
There are a couple minor differences in the existing SB 402 language regarding physicians that I 
would like to explain.   
 
First, the suggested amendment is a 2:1 ratio for dental charity care to continuing education 
credit with a maximum of six total hours.  The KDA believes this change will increase of dentists 
to perform more dental charity while keeping the percent of total CE earned in-line with that of 
physicians.    
 
Second, the Dental Board reporting requirement date is a year later, starting on January 15, 
2018, to allow the Board to adjust the data it collects from dentists during license renewal and 
also upgrade its computer software to assist in reporting to the legislature.   
 
Thank you for the opportunity to appear before you today.  I would be happy to answer any 
questions at the appropriate time.    


