
 

 

 

 

 
February 17, 2016 

 

Memorandum: 

 

To: The Senate Judiciary Committee 

From: Thomas M. Palace Executive Director PMCA of Kansas 

Re: Testimony opposing SB 455  

 

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Senate Judiciary Committee: 

 

My name is Tom Palace.  I am the Executive Director of the Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Store 

Association of Kansas (PMCA of Kansas), a statewide trade association representing over 300 

independent Kansas petroleum distribution companies and convenience store owners throughout Kansas. 

 

PMCA Opposes SB 455.  

 

It is disappointing that when the Kansas Department of Revenue, or any agency for that matter, makes 

sweeping changes to a statute that Industry stakeholders are included in the process.  SB 455 makes 

changes to the tobacco statutes that will impact tobacco retailers and if a coordinated effort to review the 

statute with industry was arranged…PMCA may not be up here opposing the departments bill. 

 

SB 455 appears to be going after counterfeit cigarettes.  PMCA has no problem with halting this process.  

In fact, we support those efforts.  However, I work with a group of people from various agencies; KDHE, 

KDOR/ABC and others and we have not discussed the proliferation of counterfeit cigarettes! We have not 

been advised that Kansas is being inundated with counterfeit cigarettes…but I do understand the potential 

for problems associated with counterfeit/contraband cigarettes especially with the recent $.50 tax hike on 

cigarettes. 

 

New section 1 states; “notwithstanding any other provision in this act, any person who purchases, 

possesses, uses or consumes more than 400 cigarettes in this state without the required tax indicia being 

affixed as herein provided shall be liable for the tax imposed by this act.”  If I am correct that means 

ONLY the retailer is going to be cited and not the consumer because the retailer is purchasing the product 

from a distributor.  Tobacco retailers will be required to be the enforcement agent.  What happens if a 

tobacco retailer receives, by mistake, a carton of cigarettes (out of a case) that does not have the tax 

indicia affixed, has called his distributor notifying them of the error but has it in his possession?  What 

happens to the retailer if an ABC agent happens to conduct and audit and finds this carton of cigarettes (in 

the back room) without the tax stamp?  The statute makes no provision for an honest mistake. 

I have some other concerns with SB 455: 

 

 Wholesalers and Distributors affix the tax stamps on packs of cigarettes that are sold to tobacco 

retailers.  SB 455 only hold the retailer liable if one carton or pack is missing the tax stamp.  Why 

is the retailer the only entity being fined? 

 Section 6 and 7 - defines who won’t be given a tobacco license and it states a certified letter will 

be sent to notify the directors intent to revoke a license.  The statute also states that “within 10 

days after the mailing of the notice, the person may request a hearing in writing before the 



director.”  With today’s mail service being what it is 10 days does not seem like ample time for 

someone to make contact with the director.  We would recommend 30 days. 

 Section 10, paragraph (e) record keeping -  line 11 states “Filed electronically in the manner 

prescribed.”  I am not sure all tobacco retailers can file electronically so some provision would be 

needed for them to comply. 

 Section 14 – line 9, the language here indicates that the director can seize counterfeit/contraband 

cigarettes.  Will they only seize the counterfeit cigarettes or will they seize the entire case that 

may include properly stamped cigarette packages? 

 Section 19 raises the civil fine from $1000 to $2500. This language gives the Director of the 

Alcohol Beverage Control the ability to fine a retailer $2500 for their first violation.  This is 

ludicrous.   

 

 Raising the penalty (selling to a minor) to $2500 for the first infraction when there is no evidence 

that a violation has become so egregious to warrant a penalty of this magnitude is nothing more 

than a money grab on the very businesses that Kansas relies upon.  Convenience stores are well 

aware of the penalties for selling to minors and they have worked hard complying with tobacco 

regulations.  In fact, Kansas retailers have performed admirably the past 6-7 years with 

compliance rates over 90%; that is well above the 80% federal compliance rate.  This is an 

indication that the current penalty structure (and clerk training) is effective in preventing the sale 

of cigarettes to minors. 

 

 We would recommend some type of graduated scale for fines and would be happy to work with 

the department on our ideas. 

 

Convenience stores sell age restricted products and as such they take compliance very seriously.  This bill 

gives NO credit to a retailer that has had a good compliance track record.  They would be penalized just 

like the retailer that has had 5-6 infractions (selling to minors).  There is no delineation between a store 

that works hard at compliance and one that doesn’t.  Convenience stores hire lots of responsible Kansans 

and unfortunately the human element will make a mistake from time-to-time and in the regulatory world 

that means loss of a job and a hefty fine to the business. 

 

PMCA represents most of the tobacco retailers in Kansas.  We do not support the sale of 

counterfeit/contraband cigarettes.  We support efforts to fix this problem.  But SB 455 goes much further 

than counterfeit/contraband cigarettes.  If Kansas has a problem, we would like to have a hand in 

developing a solution…and simply raising fines for no reason should not be the solution.     

 

I urge the committee to oppose this bill. 

 

 

 


