RESTRICT MINORS.
NOT ADULTS.

March 31, 2015

To: Members of the Senate Federal and State Affairs Committee
From: Jessica Lucas, Uncork Kansas

Uncork Kansas would like to present to the committee several supporting materials that highlight
our positions and refute the speculation offered by opposition.

SB 298 is indeed a consumer bill. It can’t be ignored that the majority of Kansans desire a change in
how adult beverages are retailed. There is a growing movement of vocal supporters of our bill and
we’re seeing them come out in much stronger support as they grow impatient with the legislature’s
lack of action on this issue.

Herein a few of your constituents comment about current law:

“Don't let a few speak for many. If this were to go to a vote, Kansans wonld easily vote to pass a law to Uncork
Kansas.”

Tiffany P., McPherson

“No proprietor, business owner, or entreprenenr deserves special treatment or consideration. Competition is good for
everyone, especially the consumer. Grocery stores in Missouri and Nebraska are able to sell liguor to their customers.
They do so safely, legally, and furthermore, economically. I understand the power of the "liguor lobby", and encourage
you to do the right thing for ALL, your constituents, not just a select gromp.”
Patricia R., Olathe

“Please get Kansas into the competitive world as far as wine and spirits. As a previous liguor license holder for over 14
_years, we need change in Kansas.”

Eugene O., Emporia

“Please, please, please pass this into law. 1 am wasting so much time and money buying wine and beer at Costeo in
Missouri, not to mention the money 1 spend on food, goods and services there. Im a Caterer and spend close to §20,
000.00 at the MO Costco every year. The liguors stores in KS' are just too excpensive because they know they have a
monopoly...its just not fair, they are gonging us becanse theres no fair competition and that should be illegall”

Lorraine G., Prairie Village

“I give Nebraska ny money.”
Rebecca M., Hoxcie

WWW.UNCORKKANSAS.COM
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To put into perspective how widespread support is ...
Facebook — 23,878 supporters
Emails — 3,810 emails generated to legislators since the beginning of session
Cards — 7,096 support cards signed for legislators during a 12-hour petiod!
Text Messages — 3,764 texts messages generated in favor of Uncork Kansas

To illustrate where support is coming from, we’ve enclosed a “heat map” that highlights the areas in
which Kansans are engaging on this issue through social media platforms.

In November, Tennessee became another state to reform its alcohol laws. Voters in 100 percent of
participating municipalities overwhelmingly approved the sale of wine in retail liquor stores. The
prevailing theme among customers in every state is “YES! We want consumer choice and free
enterprise.”

Many states feature far more consumer friendly alcohol laws as you can see on the attached map
detailing where beer and wine are retailed in grocery stores across the nation.

Of course a source of frustration over current laws exists in the price discrepancies they notice across
state lines. Taxes aside, there is significant savings offered to Kansans who choose to shop in
Missouri. The result is an unnecessary bleed of revenue to our neighbor across the river.

The economic advantages to Uncork Kansas are nicely summarized by Art Hall’s report which we’ve
included in today’s packet.

Additionally, we’ve spent time researching the outcomes of legislation as it pertains to issues like
drunk driving and addiction. Attached are snapshots from our data that clearly depict WHERE a
person purchases their alcohol has ZERO implication in how they use the product.

There is no correlation that suggests states that have greater restrictions on where products are sold
benefit from fewer DUIS, later onset of first drink of alcohol, or lesser addiction rates. It’s simply not
okay for the opposition to stand before you and argue otherwise.

What’s provided in your packet is merely a snapshot. Any one on our team is happy to share with
you any and all of the data we’ve collected — it’s extensive, but relevant to the discussion.

We also have a video we can share that shows how our stores handle products and the theft
prevention in place.

And finally, an overview of just how much Uncork Kansas has evolved in our position since we
began a cohesive effort to end liquor store protections in the marketplace. What started as a bill with
too little benefit for liquor store owners has led to our sincere efforts with a bill that addresses liquor
store desires to have a soft landing and buyout provision. We’re presenting such a bill this year and
look forward to seeing it advance through the political process and adopted in 2015 for the benefit of
our great State.

WWW.UNCORKKANSAS.COM
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Location Heat Map — Updated (2.10.15)
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Top Locations:

1. Kansas City
Lawrence, Kansas
Overland Park, Kansas

Wichita, Kansas
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Topeka, Kansas




How did voters in Red State Tennessee vote when asked at the
ballot if they wanted wine in retail food stores?

YES!

On Nov. 4, 2014, voters in 100 percent of participating municipalities overwhelmingly approved the sale of wine in refail
food stores. Tired of asking “Where's the wine?”, folks from each of the 78 urban and rural municipalities said YES! to
consumer choice and free enterprise.

We know from our outreach with Kansans that the same level of support exists in our state. Your constitutents are eagerly

awaiting the dispandment of the liquor store monopoly in favor of free market legislation that offers them improved choice,
convenience, and cost savings.

} FAYETTE [HARI
SHELBY ®

@ A red circle indicates municipalities in Tennessee that allow retail package stores, liquor-by-
the-drink or both.

il REDSYVEIGE
77 A green star indicates those communities where the wine in retail food stores referendum was ANDFOOD

approved by voters. Source: Red White and Food, Tennessee



Kansas is one of the most heavily government-regulated states in the
US in regard to the retail sale of legal adult beverages.

The state’s allowance of a liquor store monopoly stifles free enterprise,
increases costs for Kansas consumers, results in lost tax dollars and
sales to bordering states, and prohibits consumer choice.

Where You Can Buy Beer in Grocery Stores Where You Can Buy Wine in Grocery Stores
| States where grocery store beer sales are legal I States where grocery store wine sales are legal

States where grocery store beer sales are not legal States where grocery store wine sales are not legal
[l only beer under 3.2% ABV may be sold in grocery stores ~ Laws vary by locality

Laws vary by locality

Note: Laws In some states may vary by locality. In New Jersey, licenses for alcohol sales in grocery stores are limited, so few
grocery stores actually sell wine. Tennessee recently passed a law that will allow wine sales in grocery stores starting in 2016. In

Note: Laws in some states may vary by locality. In New Jersey, licenses for alcohol sales in grocery stores are limited, so few

grocery stores actually sell beer. In Pennsylvania, grocery stores with bl with sep:
may sell alcohol by the glass for on-premises consumption and two six packs of beer to go with a restaurant liquor license.

vn::%?m:?n_dnmi%oams:r _.. .E:: o:»asnom=._m<mn=m_nnro~v<3on_wmm?_.
i ion witha r liquor license.




Just How Different Are Prices Across the Border?!?

(Snapshots of price variances in Missouri and Kansas.)

Buying in Missouri - $89.74
Buying in Kansas - $124.41

Before taxes, a person saves $34.67 shopping in Missouri over Kansas.
No wonder Kansans are ready to Uncork Kansas!



Average Alcohol Addiction Rate in Kansas and Neighboring States
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Source: SAMHSA, Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, National Survey on Drug Use and Health, 2011 and 2012.
NOTE: Dependence or abuse is based on definitions found in the 4th edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-

V).

Kansas, Colorado, and Oklahoma have similar restrictive laws, versus Missouri and Nebraska where beer, wine and spitits are sold in grocery and
convenience stores.



Average Number of Alcohol Related Traffic Accidents Per 100,000 in
Restricted, Moderatley Restricted, and Unrestricted States from
2010 to 2012
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DUI Arrests Per Liquor Outlet in Kansas and Neighboring States
From 2011 to 2013 (people per 100,000)
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Source: FBI Uniform Crime Report, individual safety agencies

Kansas, Colorado, and Oklahoma have similar restrictive laws, versus Missouri and Nebraska where beet, wine and spirits are sold in grocery and
convenience stores.



Liquor Tax in Kansas Before and After Liquor Was Allowed to Be Sold
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Past Bills 2015 Bill
C-Store Retailing Could mozmwmw wine and Beer Only.

Grocery Store Retailing

Could sell beer, wine and
spirits as eatly as 6-months
from law’s inception

Beer Only. Must purchase
license from existing retailer
to sell wine and spitits.

Transition Period

As few as 12 months.

Three years before eligible
to sell beer or purchase a
license for wine and spitits.

License Cap

As few as two yeats.

PERMANENT.

Eligible Retailets

Included pharmacies (i.e.
Walgreen’s, CVS, etc...)

Restricts pharmacies from
strong beer. Only permits
grocers allowance to
purchase license for wine
and spitits




HISTORICAL OVERVIEW OF UNCORK KANSAS PROPOSED LEGISLATION

2011

2012

2013

2014

2015

Product Sales

ABC could issue
licenses to sell beer,
wine and spirits to
grocery and c-stores
as long as cap not
exceeded

Beer and wine sales
available to grocery
and c-stores after
July 1, 2013. License
to sell spirits at
grocery or c-store
must be purchased
from existing
retailer.

Beer and Wine only
for Grocery and C-
stores

Phased in over ten
years, grocery and
c-stores could sell
beer, wine, and
spirits

C-stores can sell
beer only. Grocery
stores can sell beer
without license
purchase, but would
need to buy existing
license to sell wine
and spirits.

Product Restrictions

Liquor stores could
not sell non-
alcoholic products
until Jan. 1, 2017.

Liquor stores could
sell non-alcoholic
products four years
from effective date.

Liquor stores could
expand to non-
alcoholic product
sales three years
from inception of
law

After six years,
could expand sales
beyond alcohol and
lottery tickets

Liquor stores could
expand to non-
alcoholic product
sales three years
from inception of
law ... same time as
grocery and c-stores
could sell non-CMB
products.

License Cap

Licenses were
capped for three
years, but increased
to five in Senate
committee.

Three year cap.

Two year license cap

Ten year license cap

Permanent.

Transition period

Cap effective July 1,
2011, and stores
eligible to sell as
early as January 1,
2012,

Committee altered
bill to include
provision of license
cap through 2020
with allowance of
only beer and wine
sales to grocery or
c-stores purchasing.
In 2020, licenses
would be available
for purchase from
ABC for beer and
wine only.

24-months before
grocery and c-stores
could sell beer and
wine

One year from date
of bill passing,
grocery and c-stores
could purchase a
license from existing
license holder to sell
beer, wine and
spirits. Alternatively,
three years after bill
passage, grocery
and c-stores could
sell beer; six years
wine; ten years
spirits

Grocery and c-
stores would wait
three years before
they could sell non-
CMB beer or
grocery stores could
purchase license to
sell wine and spirits.
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