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My name is Keith Mark, and I have practiced in the area ofworkers' compensation for my entire 
law career - the first seven years, exclusively on the defense side and the last 22 years, on the 
claimant's side. 

I have seen many changes in the Kansas workers' compensation laws, but none more drastic than 
those enacted in 2011. When the 2011 changes were effectuated, there was a significant problem 
that needed to be addressed to prevent an injured worker from collecting enhanced benefits in 
cases where they voluntarily and purposefully removed themselves from the workforce. That 
problem was solved. 

However, in addition to fixing that problem, additional changes were made creating a "prevailing 
factor standard" that greatly restricts many on-the-job injured workers from accessing the Kansas 
workers' compensation system. Kansas is only one of two States that uses a prevailing factor 
standard and is the only State in the Union that uses a prevailing factor standard and any AMA 
Guides whatsoever. Additional changes included specifically eliminating aggravations of pre­
existing injuries no matter how old the prior injury was. For example, if a man had injured his 
back serving this Country in the military and then 30 years later, re-injured that same condition 
at work, after 2011, he was not allowed Kansas workers' compensation benefits. Another change 
was to exclude injuries that were considered activities of daily living. For example, a man 
climbs up 15 stairs at work to check on the pressure gages of a machine and injures his knee 
while climbing up those stairs. This event is no longer covered under the Kansas Workers' 
Compensation Act since 2011 because the new law says the injured worker could have just as 
easily injured his knee climbing stairs in his own home. There were many other changes, but I 
have listed these to make a point. After 2011, the Kansas Workers' Compensation Act became 
one of, if not the most, restrictive in the entire Country. 

On top of those changes, Kansas has one of the lowest rates used to calculate disability benefits 
and is in the overwhelmingly minority of States that actually cap pennanent total and death 
benefits. What those caps mean is that if an injured worker is so severely injured that he is 
pennanently and totally disabled from engaging in any future employment for the rest ofhis life, 
his workers' compensation benefits are capped at $155,000.00. If a worker is killed on the job, 
his workers' compensation benefits are capped at $300,000.00. 

One of the most important facts to point out is that the 2011 changes were negotiated and agreed 
upon in a complete bipartisan manner. Problems were identified, both sides came to the table to 
discuss and negotiate, and the end result was a comprehensive major overhaul of the Kansas 
Workers' Compensation Act that was done entirely by agreement. 
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So, what are the results of the 2011 changes? Well, exactly what you would expect. There has 
been a huge decrease in the number ofApplications for Hearing filed in Kansas, and the dollar 
value ofthe claims that actually make their way into the system have gone down significantly. 
According to the Secretary of Labor in a meeting I had with her last week, the 2011 changes 
were wildly more successful than anyone had predicted. Workers' compensation claims filed 
since 2011 have gone down by 20%. The total claims costs in Kansas since the 2011 changes 
have decreased by 40%. I have attached to my material, data obtained from the Kansas 
Department of Labor to support these percentages. 

What has this meant for employers in Kansas since 2011? According to Ray Mesa of the 
Chamber ofCommerce, there has been a State-wide reduction in employer workers' 
compensation premiums of$50 million. Let me repeat myself. Since the 2011 workers' 
compensation law changes, the number of workers' compensation claims in Kansas has 
significantly decreased, the dollar value ofcompensable claims since 2011 has decreased by 40% 
AND employers have enjoyed a State-wide reduction in workers' compensation premiums of$50 
million dollars! 

Yet, for some folks, that just was not enough. They proposed and passed in 2013 yet another 
change to the Kansas Workers' Compensation Act. Unlike the 2011 changes that were done with 
complete bipartisan support, over strong objection from the labor community, they completely 
changed the playing field ofKansas workers' compensation. A change of how injured workers' 
benefits would be calculated by moving from the American Medical Association Guides to the 
Evaluation ofPermanent Impairment lh Ed (AMA Guides lh Ed.) to the American Medical 
Association Guides to the Evaluation ofPermanent Impairment 6th Ed (AMA Guides 6th Ed.) 
starting in January of this year. 

I was not involved in any of the 2011 or 2013 discussions or negotiations, but I have heard 
members on both sides of the negotiations state that the 2011 changes that were negotiated were 
predicated on Kansas never going to the AMA Guides 6th Ed. Let me repeat, those individuals 
who negotiated the 2011 changes, which included individuals representing the labor community, 
individuals representing employers and the insurance industry, including the current Director of 
Workers' Compensation, Larry Karns, agreed as part of the 2011 changes that Kansas would 
never move to the AMA Guides 6th Ed. Additionally, I have personally heard one of the strongest 
proponents in enacting and staying with the AMA Guides 6th Ed., Eric Stafford, admit that they 
never even had the AMA Guides 6th Ed prior to pressing this Committee to enact it. That 
actually makes sense because even though it was passed in 2013, it did not come in to effect until 
January of2015, apparently, so the AMA Guides 6th Ed could be reviewed, studied and vetted. 
Well, it has been reviewed, and it has been sharply criticized by those that have reviewed it. 

The man who is generally recognized as the architect of the 2011 changes from the 
employer/insurance company side, Fred Greenbaum, has publicly stated that it is bad for Kansas. 
He has publicly stated that he recalls that the 2011 negotiations and ultimate bipartisan 
agreement was predicated on the promise that Kansas would never go to the AMA Guides 6th Ed. 
I have heard with my own ears director Larry Karns say, "In theory, the AMA Guides 6th Ed 



sounded good but in practice, it did not fit the Kansas workers' compensation system as amended 
in 2011." You have heard Dr. Koprivica, one of the leading experts in Kansas regarding the 
American Medical Association Guides testify that the AMA Guides 6th Ed arbitrarily reduces the 
impairment ratings of injured workers on an average of 72% across the board. 

When this issue was presented to the leading constitutional expert in the State and one of the 
most respected conservatives in Kansas, Secretary of State Kris Kobach, it was his learned 
opinion that the changes from the AMA Guides i h Ed to the AMA Guides 6th Ed., on top of the 
already-restrictive Kansas workers' compensation laws, would likely make the entire Kansas 
Workers' Compensation Act unconstitutional. This issue was also presented to Washburn Law 
School's nationally-acclaimed constitutional law professor Bill Rich, and he has also concluded 
that adding the AMA Guides (/h Ed to the already-restrictive Kansas Workers' Compensation Act 
would leave injured workers without an adequate remedy, which our Kansas constitution 
guarantees all ofour citizens, which would render the entire Kansas Workers' Compensation Act 
unconstitutional. 

What does that mean from a practical standpoint? Prior to a workers' compensation act being 
established in Kansas, the only recourse at law an injured worker had was against their employer 
in civil court if the work injury was due to employer or co-worker fault. That occurs in 
approximately 10% to 20% of work accidents, but when it did, the injured worker would receive 
enormous awards because there is no limit to economic damages in civil cases. The result was 
that very few injured workers received compensation, but the amounts paid in those limited cases 
were astronomical and placed a huge burden on employers. So, in what is termed as the "Grand 
Bargain," the Kansas Workers' Compensation Act was created. What the bargain consisted of 
was all workers injured on the job were given a remedy at law through the new Workers' 
Compensation Act, but agreed-upon limits were placed on those benefits. In return, employers 
received the "Exclusive Remedy Rule" which prevents an employee from filing suit against the 
employer directly in civil court even in cases ofemployer or co-employer fault. Each side 
received a quid pro quo, "something for something." This allowed all injured workers to collect 
a little and employers to be insulated from the catastrophic lawsuits that were once filed in civil 
court. This also allowed employers to budget their workers' compensation claims quite 
predictably, which in the business world of establishing budgets, is very important. 

If the Secretary of State, the esteemed law professor and the vast majority of attorneys who have 
weighed-in on this issue are correct, the current Kansas Workers' Compensation Act, because of 
the inclusion ofthe AMA Guides 6th Ed, has denied injured workers an adequate remedy, hence 
the quid pro quo has been destroyed, then there is no Kansas Workers' Compensation Act. That 
means there is no Exclusive Remedy Rule, so in every case since January 1,2015, where a 
worker has been injured on the job in Kansas due to employer or co-worker fault, employers will 
be liable in civil court, and they will not be insulated and protected by the current workers' 
compensation caps and limitations. The causes of action will range from direct employer or co­
worker fault (like the boss driving an employee to a job site or a conference who is at fault in a 
car accident, or a highway department worker injured as a passenger when his co-worker is at 
fault in a vehicle accident), failure to train, failure to supervise, failure to maintain equipment, 
failure to provide equipment, failure to maintain a safe work environment, failure to provide an 
ergonomically safe work environment, etc. 



I also want to add that municipalities in the State of Kansas will not be immune to those lawsuits. 
I have attached a summary of the City ofKansas City, Kansas, law finn's research supporting 
the proposition that liability will be the general rule, not the exception. This means that the State 
of Kansas and municipalities large and small across the State will be forced to defend, and 
ultimately pay, significant civil judgments in cases resulting from employer or co-worker fault. 
When this occurs, budgets of employers, the State and municipalities will be destroyed. Some 
employers and mid-tier to small municipalities will be bankrupt. 

Here are some examples: I have a Union transport driver that was significantly injured due to 
direct employer negligence. He makes $100,000.00 per year, and he has had a significant neck 
surgery and, likely, will never get released to return to his previous heavy job duties. Prior to 
January of2015, that man's claim would have been capped at $130,000.00 and that includes his 
lost time and pennanent disability compensation. With the Exclusive Remedy Rule no longer 
applying, this will become a civil lawsuit in Wyandotte County District Court and worth 
potentially $3.5 million. That figure is arrived at with $3 million in actual income loss, 
$130,000.00 in medical expenses plus the $300,000.00 that Kansas allows for non-economic 
damages. The net result is that this case will be worth a potential $3.3 million more in district 
court and the employer will be on-the-hook for the entire amount of that difference. 

Yet another example: I have a case where my client was in a roll-over accident due to employer 
fault. My client is paralyzed from the neck down and is only 35 years-old. He will never work 
again. In workers' compensation, this man's claim would be capped at the $155,000.00 
pennanent total cap. In district court, this will be a $15 to $16 million case. That figure includes 
$3 million in wage loss, $12.5 million for the life-care plan and the $300,000.00 non-economic 
loss allowed by Kansas law. That is potentially $15 million more than this case would have been 
worth if handled in the previous Kansas workers' compensation system. 

Lastly, I recently read about a 30-year-old Manhattan city employee killed on the job on 
February 6,2015 due to what appears to be co-worker fault in a trench cave-in accident. Ifthere 
is co-worker fault in that tragedy, and the Exclusive Remedy Rule is abolished, a $300,000.00 
maximum Kansas workers' compensation case turns in to a $3 to $5 million civil case. 

Is any of this worth the risk? It does not take much imagination at all to see the catastrophic train 
wreck that is coming to Kansas if the respective constitutional law experts are correct. 
Oklahoma is currently dealing with a legal Armageddon since their Workers' Compensation Act 
was found to be unconstitutionaL Employers will be ruined and bankrupt. State and 
municipality budgets will be devastated and, in some instances, destroyed. An uncertain and 
unconstitutional workers' compensation system will thwart the influx of prospective out-of-State 
employers from moving in to Kansas and will force some existing employers to relocate out of 
the State. With a State budget that is already under attack, what will happen when State 
employees start filing civil cases in work accidents that involve employer or co-worker fault? 
The State will have to find never-before-budgeted dollars to defend and, potentially, pay for 
these lawsuits as opposed to how they have always been able to predictably budget their workers' 
compensation losses in the past. 
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Let's not forget the tens of thousands of Kansas workers whose lives will be ruined because they 
were unfortunate enough to suffer an on-the-job work injury. Keep in mind, these are not fellow 
Kansans who have removed themselves from the work force and are habitually seeking a 
handout. These are the hardworking folks you work with, hunt and fish with, and go to church 
with, who are on the rope pulling and being productive Kansans every day. 

How many lawsuits are going to be filed in Kansas? I have no way of giving you an exact 
number, but I can tell you there will be a lot of them. In my practice, in 2013, my firm handled 
73 workers' compensation cases where there was employer or co-worker negligence. In 2014, 
we are currently handling 52 cases where there was employer or co-worker negligence. In 2015 
already, we have 11 cases ofwork accidents that were caused by employer or co-worker fault. I 
can assure you that if this unconstitutional act is not fixed, I will file everyone of these cases 
since January 1,2015, in district court against each employer, municipality or State agency 
where fault lies, and I will make sure that every other workers' compensation lawyer in the State 
ofKansas has the blueprint of how to do it, too! 

The proponents of using the AMA Guides 6th Ed. are short-sighted. Unlike in 2011 when 
changes were made by agreement to solve identified problems, the AMA Guides 6th Ed. was not 
implemented to solve a problem, unless employers enjoying $50 million in premium reductions 
State-wide is a problem! The argument that the AMA Guides 6th Ed. simply modernizes how 
percentages are calculated is incorrect. No one should be able to convince intelligent people, 
especially the members of this committee, the practice of medicine has so advanced in the last 20 
years to account for a 72% across-the-board reduction in impairment ratings and to account for 
completely eliminating impairments for some injuries altogether. The result is to, likely, render 
the Kansas Workers' Compensation Act unconstitutional. 

Is this risk worth it? No one with any skin in the game can tell you that it is. Since the 2011 
changes, employers have enjoyed a very predictable and employer-favored Workers' 
Compensation Act. Employers have enjoyed a huge reduction in State-wide premiums and, 
according to the Department of Labor, there have been 20% fewer cases filed with a 40% overall 
reduction in the total values of those cases, and there is no reason to expect that trend to change 
any time soon. If Secretary Kobach and Professor Rich are correct, the same employers that are 
enjoying predictable and limited workers' compensation liability will be thrust into district court 
with the cost ofdefense and uncertain judgments. I have heard from many small businesses that 
even one claim will jeopardize their ability to stay in business. How can anyone vote to allow 
that risk to occur? Ifworkers' compensation costs were skyrocketing and premiums were rising 
at unprecedented rates and there was a problem that needed to be addressed, then I can see both 
sides sitting down to try and solve the problem like was done in 2011 in a bipartisan effort. 
However, no one opposing Senate Bill 167 can point to a significant current problem in the 
Kansas Workers' Compensation Act subsequent to the 2011 changes. I will be surprised if there 
is any lawyer or constitutional law expert who would be willing to stake their reputation that the 
current state of the Kansas Workers' Compensation Act remains constitutional. This Committee, 
and the legislature in total, has a chance to prevent a legal Armageddon that assuredly will come 
ifthe AMA Guides 6th Ed remains in force in Kansas. 
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Thank God that there are some smart, forward-thinking conservative Kansans like Secretary of 
State Kris Kobach. This Senate Bill 167 can prevent this legal Armageddon and, with the I 

compromises contained in the Bill, can keep the Kansas Workers' Compensation Act one that is 

i 
tbuilt upon compromise. Compromise is always the best approach, especially if it is unanimous, 

and I can guarantee you unanimous support from Democrats and the labor community on this 
Bill. I would like you to remember the words of our Governor Sam Brownback. He spoke these 
words after the historic 2011 workers' compensation compromise legislation: 

"This is what I love about Kansas. Unlike what I got in to on the 
Federal level where people would just fight, here it's, 'Look, we've 
got a problem, how are we going to fix it?' Labor said, 'We want 
higher caps.' Okay, done. Business said, 'We want more 
predictability on the cases that are questionable.' Okay, done." 

No one identified a problem that needed to be fixed prior to implementing the AMA Guides 6th 

Ed. If the AMA Guides 6th Ed. remains, it will be without a compromise and will lead to many 
costly lawsuits to determine the constitutionality of the Kansas Workers' Compensation Act. If 
the Act is found to be unconstitutional, then employers, municipalities and the State of Kansas 
itself will face unimaginable liability! Therefore, on behalf of Kansas employers and workers 
alike, I urge you to vote yes on Senate Bill 167. 


