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FEES · 61·7·1 

61-4-2. Renewal of licenses and certifi­
cates of registration. (a) All barber, shop owner, 
chair lessee, and instructor licenses shall be re­
newed on an alphabetical basis as follows: 

(1) Barbers, shop owners, chair lessees, and in­
structors whose last name begins A-C and M-0 
shall renew their licenses annually on or before 
March 31. 

(2) Barbers, shop owners, chair lessees, and in­
structors whose last name begins D-F and P-R 
shall renew their licenses annually on or before 
June 30. .. 

(3) Barbers, shop owners, chair lessees, and in­
structors whose last name begins G-I and S-U 
shall renew their licenses annually on or before 
Se1;1tember 30. 

· (4) Barbers, shop owners, chair lessees, and in-
structors whose last name begins J-Land V-Zshall 
renew their licenses annually on or before De­
cember 31. 

(b) The restoration fee for late renewals shall 
be an amount which is less than the license fee, 
for the first 30 days after the expiration date. After 
this 30 day period the restoration fee shall be the 
full amount of the license fee. 

(c) Students, upon passing the master barber 
examination, shall be issued a barber license, the 
cost of which shall be prorated. This license shall 
expire in the proper quarter as provided in sub­
section (a). 

(d) The barber schools and colleges shall con­
tinue to renew their licenses annually on or before 
December 31. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-1825; im­
plementing K.S.A. 1982 Supp. 65-1819; effective, 
E-81-37, Dec. 10, 1980; effective May 1, 1981; 
amended May 1, 1982; amended May 1, 1983.) 

Article 5.-APPLICATIONS 

61-5-1. Limitation on filing date. Any 
person who desires to practice barbering shall file 
with the board a completed application with 
proper amount of fees not later than 15 days be­
fore the examination. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-
1825; implementing K.S.A. 1982 Supp. 65-1817; 
effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended May 1, 1982; 
amended May 1, 1983.) 

Article 6.-RECIPROCITY 

61-6-1. Reserved. 
61·6·2. Barbers who qualify for reci-

procity. Effective July 1, 1980, a reciprocal bar­
ber's license shall be issued to licensed registered 
barbers who meet the following requirements: (1) 
Currently licensed in a state, territory, or country, 
which has a reciprocal agreement with Kansas. 

(2) Actively licensed and practicing barbering 
for at least twenty-four (24) months. The applicant 
shall provide the board with a notarized statement 
from previous and current employers attesting to 
this. 

(3) Submit a letter from the current licensing 
board verifying that the licensee is in good 
standing. 

(4) Certify in writing that he or she has read, 
understands, and will abide by the rules, regula­
tions, and statutes of the state of Kansas. 

(5) Submit an application subject to approval 
by the board. The reciprocal fee shall accompany 
the application. 

(6) The reciprocal fee shall be a processing and 
license fee equal to the examination and barber 
license fee. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-1813, 65-
1825, 74-1806; effective, E-81-17, June 25, 1980; 
effective May 1, 1981.) 

Article 7.-FEES 

61-7-1. Fees. The board of barber examin­
ers shall charge the following fees as provided in 
statute. 

For examination of applicant to practice as a barber . . $40 
For issuance of certificate to practice as a barber.. .. .. 35 
For renewal of certificate to practice as a barber . . . . . . 35 
For restoration of expired certificate, less than thirty 

days late .. .. . .. .. .. .. . .. .. . . .. .. . . .. . . . .. .. . .. .. .. . .. . 20 
For restoration of expired certificate to practice as a 

barber, under three years old, each year . . . . . . . . . . . 35 
After three years applicant shall be reexamined upon 

payment of the regular examination fee . . . . . . . . . . . . 40 
For teacher's certificate or annual renewal thereof.. .. 40 
For restoration of expired teacher's certificate, under 

three years old, each year........ .......... .. ........ 40 
After three years the teacher shall be reexamined upon 

payment of the regular examination fee .. . . . .. .. .. . 110 
For permit to operate a barber school or barber college, 

annual fee .. .. . . . . .. .. .. . . .. . .. . . . . .. .. . .. . .. . . .. .. . .. 330 
For shop inspection, and annual license fee......... . . . 15 
For a new shop, relocation or change of ownership . . . 40 
For issuance of a seminar permit .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. .. . 30 

(Authorized by K.S.A. 65-1825; implementing 
K.S.A. 1982 Supp. 65-1817; effective May 1, 
1983.) 

173 
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Chapter 65.--PUBLIC HEALTH 
Article 18.--EXAMINATION, REGISTRATION AND REGULATION OF BARBERS 

65-1817. Fees; determination and collection; limitations; duplicate licenses. 
(a) In each fiscal year, the board shall determine the amount of funds which will be required during the 
next ensuing fiscal year to properly administer the laws which the board is directed to enforce and 
administer and shall fix fees in accordance with this section for such ensuing year in such reasonable 
sums as may be necessary for such purposes. 
(b) After fixing such fees, the board may charge and collect the fees, in advance for the following 

purposes, subject to the following limitations: 

For examination of applicant to practice barbering--not more than .................. ..... .... ....... . 
For issuance of license to practice barbering--not more than .............................................. . 
For renewal of license to practice barbering--not more than ...... ....... ................................... . 
For restoration of expired license to practice barbering, if expiration period is 
under three years, the lapsed fees plus a restoration fee of not more than ............. ... ....... . 
After three years applicant shall be reexamined upon payment of the regular 
examination fee--not more than ..... .................. ............. ...................................... .............. . . 
For instructor license qr annual renewal thereof--not more than ................................. ....... . 
For restoration of expired instructors license, if expiration period is under three 
years, the lapsed fees plus a restoration fee of not more than ............................................ .. 
After three years the instructor shall be reexamined upon payment of the regular 
examination fee--not more than ............................................. ................ ............ ... .... ......... . 
For a license to operate a barber school or barber college, annual fee --not more 
than .. ... .................................................... .............................................. ............................. . 
For shop inspection, and annual license fee--not more than .......................... .................... .. 
For restoration of expired shop license, if expiration period is under three years, 

$100 
80 
80 

100 

100 
90 

90 

170 

500 
40 

the lapsed fee plus a restoration fee of not more than.. .............. .............................. ............ 80 
For a new shop, relocation or change of ownership--not more than.............. ...... ................. 80 
For issuance of a seminar permit--not more than ....... ;................ ......................................... 80 
For issuance of student learning license--not more than............ .... .... .............. .................... 55 

(c) A duplicate license will be issued upon the filing of a statement covering the loss of same and the 
payment of a fee of $5 for the issuance of same. Each duplicate shall have the word "duplicate" stamped 
across the face thereof and will bear the same number as the original. 
History: L.l939, ch.241, § 10; L. 1949, ch. 333, § 1; L. 1956, ch. 52,§ 11 ; L. 1957, ch. 431, § 8; L. 
1958, ch. 53,§ 1 (Budget Session); L. 1961, ch. 288, § 5; L. 1963, ch. 398, § 12; L. 1970, ch. 255, § 5; L. 
1973, ch. 309, § 18; L. 1974, ch. 253, § 2; L. 1975, ch.321, § 1; L. 1980, ch. 191, § 1; L. 1981, ch. 248, § 
5; L. 1982, ch. 265, § 6; L. 1990, ch. 225, § 7; L. 2003, ch. 36, § 1; July 1. 
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Note: To KBOB Statutory and Regulatory Oversight Committee for reference regarding 
documented increases in barber licensing fees charged for the last 25 years; from 1981 
through 2016. LM 

1981 $35.00 
1982 $35.00 
1983 $35.00- Effective date of K.A.R. 61 -7-1 
1984 $35.00 
1985 $35.00 
1986 $35.00 
1987 $35.00 
1988 $35.00 
1989 $35.00 
1990 $35.00 
1991 $50.00 
2000 $50.00 
2001 $50.00 
2002 $50.00 
2003 $50.00 
2004 $65.00 
2005 $65.00 
2006 $65.00 
2007 $65.00 
2008 $80.00- Current license fee 
2009 $80.00 
2010 $80.00 
2011 $80.00 
2012 $80.00 
2013 $80.00 
2014 $80.00 
2015 $80.00 
2016 $80.00 

1-5 
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61-7-2. Fees. The following fees shall be charged by the board: 

(a) Barber license 

( 1) Examination to practice bar bering $100 

(2) Issuance of license to practice barbering 80 

(3) Renewal of license to practice barbering 80 

( 4) Restoration of expired license to practice barbering 

(A) If the expiration period is not more than three years, the restoration and lapsed fees 

shall be as follows: 

lapsed 1 through 30 days 100 

lapsed 31 through 365 days 160 

lapsed 366 through 730 days 240 

lapsed 731 through 1,095 days 320 

(B) For each barbering license that has lapsed for more than three years, the applicant 

shall be reexamined upon payment of the barbering examination and issuance of license 

fees 180 

(b) Instructor license 

( 1) Examination to instruct barbering 40 

(2) Issuance of license to instruct barbering 40 

(3) Renewal of license to instruct barbering 40 

( 4) Restoration of expired instructor's license 

(A) If the expiration period is not more than three years, the restoration and lapsed fees 

shall be as follows: 

lHTORNEY GENERAL 
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lapsed 1 through 3 0 days 

lapsed 31 through 365 days 

lapsed 366 through 730 days 

lapsed 731 through 1,095 days 

(B) For each instructor's license that has lapsed for more than three years, the 

instructor shall be reexamined upon payment of the examination, instructor's license, 

and renewal fees 

(c) License to operate a barber school or barber ·college (annual fee) 

(d) License to operate a barber shop 

( 1) Shop inspection and annual license fee 

(2) Restoration of expired shop license. If the expiration period is not more than three 

years, the restoration and lapsed fees shall be as follows: 

lapsed 1 through 30 days 

lapsed 31 through 365 days 

lapsed 366 through 730 days 

lapsed 731 through 1,095 days 

(3) New shop, relocation, or change of ownership 

(e) Seminar permit 

(f) Student learning license 

60 

80 

120 

160 

120 

500 

40 

55 

120 

160 

200 

80 

80 

55 
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KANSAS BARBER LICENSE FEES- EFFECTIVE AUGUST 15, 2014 

BARBER LICENSE OR RENEWAL ...................................................................................................... $80.00 
SHOP LICENSE RENEWAL ................................................................................................................... 40.00 
SHOP LICENSE- NEW, RELOCATION OR CHANGE OF OWNER .................................................... 80.00 
INSTRUCTORS LICENSE OR RENEWAL ............................................................................................. 40.00 

RESTORATION OF EXPIRED LICENSES: 
BARBER: If lapsed 1 to 30days-$100; 31 to 365 days· $160; 366 to 730days- $240; 731to 1095 days -$320. 
Must IIH!xamine W not renewed within three years. 
SHOP: If lapsed 1 to 30 days· $55; 31 to 365 days· $120; 366 kl730 days· $160; 731 to 1095 days · $200. 
BARBER INSTRUCTOR: If lapsed 1to30days • $60; 31 to365 days -$80; 366 to 730 days· $120; 731lo 1095 
days · $160. 

RENEWAL DATES 
IF LAST NAME BEGINS WITH RENEW BETWEEN 

ABC M N 0 Jan. 1 and Mar. 31 
D E F P Q R Apr. 1 and Jun. 30 
G H I STU Jul. 1 and Sept. 30 

J KL VW XY Z Ocl1 and Dec. 31 
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61-3-7. Minimum requirements for opening a barber school or barber college. (a) Each 

approved barber school or barber college shall have at least +G three students enrolled and at 

least 2,500 square feet of floor space available five feet between the centers of each adjoining 

barber chair in the clinical demonstration room before opening. If the barber school or barber 

college is located in a building in which another entity operates a business or school that 

conducts or teaches anything other than barbering as defined in K.S.A. 65-1809 and amendments 

thereto, the barber school or barber college shall have a separate entrance and shall be 

completely separate within that building, except as provided in subsection (b). 

Each barber school or barber college shall have at least two rooms accessible to its 

students at all times. One room shall be used for class study, examinations, and lectures, and the 

other room shall be used for practical demonstrations. The barber school or barber college shall 

provide two restrooms at least one restroom with a toilet and washbasin, which shall be kept in a 

sanitary condition. Each room shall be equipped to meet the requirements of all applicable 

regulations of the Kansas state board ofbarbering. 

(b) Any barber school or barber college that shares a building in which another entity 

operates a business or school that conducts or teaches anything other than barbering may share 

the following facilities with that entity: 

(1) Classrooms other than the clinic floor, if no classroom is used by both the entity and 

the barber school or barber college at the same time; 

(2) restrooms; and 
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(3) common areas, including reception areas, lounges, and hallways. (Authorized by and 

implementing K.S.A. 65-1825a, K.S.A. 2-W4 2015 Supp. 74-1806; implementing K.S.A. 65 

+&-l-Q.; effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended May 1, 1988; amended March 20, 2015; amended, T-

________ ;amended P-_______ .) 
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Kansas Board of Barbering 
Telephonic Survey of Kansas Barbers 

Conducted Wednesday, February 3, 2016 
9:00AM to 12:00 Noon 

Survey Process 

. • 640 Total Kansas 
Licensed Barber 
Shops 

• Survey Field 
included calls .to 
73 Shops 

• 12% of Total 
Shops · 

Question 

Do you feel there is a shortage of 

barbers in Kansas? 

Do you feels there is a shortage of 
quality barber schools in Ka nsas? 

One problem with opening new 
barber schools in Kansas is the 

shortage of licensed instructors. 
Do you approve of an instructor 
apprentice program to train 

instructors? 

Do you feel having an annual 

inspection for all barber shops is 
sufficient to ensure an adequate 

level of Public Safety? 

Do you feel the $80.00 annual 
barber l icense fee and $40.00 shop 

license fee is fair and reasonable? 

From 1-10 with 10 being most 

important, how would you rate 

the importance of the Kansas 
Board of Barbering to the 

barbering industry in Kansas? 

Percent 
YES 
78% 

90% 

82% 

97% 

100% 

Percent Average 
NO 

22% 

10% 

18% 

3% 

Overall 
Average 

of9.2% 
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Barbe ring Members of the Kansas Board of Barbe ring (KBOB) 

Board Kansas Reciprocal Kansas Reciprocal Total Years Total Years 

Member Barber's State Barber State as Licensed as Licensed 

License Barber's Instructor's Instructor's Barber Barber 

License License License Instructor 

Victoria 34 years 28 years 34 years 28 years 

Rajewski 

Larry Ross 35 years 24 yea rs 3 years 59 years 3 yea rs 

Heather 6 yea rs 29 years 6 years 6 years 35 years 6 yea rs 

Earlington 

Troy 21 years 21 years 

Franklin 

Total Years 96 years 53 years 37 years 6 years 149 years 37 years 

for Board 

Members 

Staff 

Member 

Inspector 25 years 6 years 25 years 6 yea rs 

Jeri Bryant 

2_-1 :L 
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Kansas 
Doanl of Oarbering 

THREE YEAR STRATEGIC PLAN 
FY-16, 17 and 18 

As modified and approved by the Board on October 31, 2015 

Vision: To be recognized as an effective and efficient Fee Funded 

Board for Protection of the Consuming Public and 
Supervision of the Barbe ring Industry. 

Mission: The Mission of the Kansas Board of Barbe ring is to protect 

the health and welfare of the consuming public through the 
enforcement of barber statutes and regulations regarding 
sanitation in the barber profession; to ensure only qualified 
and well trained barbers and barber instructors are licensed; 
to ensure all shops and barber colleges are properly licensed 
and operating effectively; to provide supervision and 
support for the industry, including ensuring effective 
regulations are in place to allow the Kansas Barber Industry 
to be State of the art; balancing fees, fines and costs; 
communicating effectively with the profession and the 
public; and, ensuring the Board and Staff are knowledgeable 
and well qualified. 

Goals: Goal #1 - Effectively Protect the Consuming Public! 

Goal #2 - Effectively Supervise the Barbe ring 
Industry! 

~/3 
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Kansas 
!loard of 13arbcring 

KBOB Goals, Objectives and Strategies for FY-16, 17 & 18 

Goal #1- Effectively Protect the Consuming Public 

OBJECTIVES STRATEGIES PRIORITY 
Ensure Sanitation is in accordance Ensure good sanitation practices are taught FY 16-18 
with Regulations thoroughly in barber schools and verified #1 

during Examinations. 
Provide annual inspections of shops and FY 16-18 
quarterly inspections of schools to ensure #1 
sanitation and other regulations are in 
compliance with required expectations. 
Issue fines to shops, schools and/or barbers FY 16-18 
found in violation of regulations. #1 

Ensure all professionals in the Instructors: From the perspective of FY -17 
barber industry are qualified and ensuring the knowledge of basics, consider #1 
knowledgeable the use of NIC written and practical 

Instructor examinations. 

Instructors: From the perspective of FY -17 
knowledge of the teaching process, consider #1 
working with a Community College to 
conduct continuing education for Instructors 
regarding professional teaching methods. 
Instructors: From the perspective of FY -17 
ensuring quality continuing education, #2 
consider the use of NIC web based 
continuing education for Instructors 
School Administrators- identify the best FY -18 
possible process to ensure school #1 
administrators know the basic rudiments of 
teaching; professionally and specifica lly to 
barbering. 
Barbers- identify the best possible process FY -18 
to ensure barbers continue to be #2 
knowledgeable about changes in the 
profession, possibly via some form of 
seminars and/or the use of a news letter; 
whether on or off the web site. 



Kansas 
Ooard of 13arbering 

Goal #2- Effectively Supervise the Barbe ring Industry 

OBJECTIVES STRATEGIES PRIORITY 
Ensure effective regu lations are in Review and implement both temporary and FY -16 
place to allow the Kansas Barber permanent regulations for Cosmetologist #1 
Industry to be State of the Art. Cross-Over Licensing 

Review and implement regulatory changes FY -16 
to make it easier for entrepreneurs and #1 
others to start a barber schoot including 
issues regarding barbers not required to 
serve as administrators; reevaluate the need 
to have two instructors for 10 students (and 
on-going ratio requirements}; whether it is 
necessary to have 2,500 sq. ft. and other 
Regulations as determined appropriate. 

Ba lance Fees, Fines and Costs Generate more licensed barbers to help FY-16 
reestabli sh the industry in count ies where #1 
there are no barbers and generate more 
revenue to operate t he Board without 
increasing fees, as much as practical. 

License more barber schools in Community FY - 16-18 
Colleges, Tech Schools, Trade Schools and #1 
State Prisons. 

Potentially create fees t hrough Board FY -18 
sanctioned seminars. #2 

Improve Communication with Improve and expand the KBOB web site to FY -17 
Stakeholders include additional useful information . #1 

Develop an information letter that will go FY -16 
out with each new barber, instructor and #1 
school license. 
Develop a newsletter to be included on the FY -17 
web site - and generally update the site. #1 
Find a way to uti lize social media; including FY - 18 
use of mobile notifications. 
Utilize press releases to notify the public of FY -17 
happenings in the industry, including both #2 
good th ings happening as well as notifying 
the public (and barbers} of barbers who's 
licenses have expired. 

Pager- J f) 



Kansas 
13oard of 13arbering 

OBJECTIVES STRATEGIES PRIORITY 
Ensure the Board and Staff are Join the National Association of Barber FY -17 
knowledgeable regarding the Boards of America to enable Board #1 
industry, nationwide. Members and Staff to attend national 

meetings- whether paid for personally or, if 
funds are available, to be reimbursed by 
KBOB. 
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