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TOBACCO FREE KANSAS

February 19, 2015
Written Testimony in Support of
HB 2306: Increasing rates of taxation on cigarettes, tobacco products and alcoholic beverages
House Committee on Taxation
By: Joyce Cussimanio, TFKC President

Chairperson Kleebs and Members of the Committee:

Thank you for allowing me to present information for nearly 150 member organizations and individuals with the Tobacco Free
Kansas Coalition on the importance of raising tobacco taxes in Kansas.

The Problem: Smoking takes a terrible toll on Kansans. Tobacco use is the single most preventable cause of death in Kansas.
Every year more than 4,400 Kansas adults die from diseases that are directly linked to tobacco use. At today’s rates, 61,000 chil-
dren who currently smoke will perish due to tobacco use. For every Kansans that ultimately dies from tobacco use, there are 20

more suffering from tobacco-related diseases and disability. Here is Kansans by the numbers:

The Solution: Three proven com-
ponents to reducing tobacco use.
1) Kansas has implement one of
these by adopting a statewide
clean indoor air law. 2) Kansas
has the opportunity to significant-
ly impact the terrible toll of tobac-
co on Kansans by increasing the
tobacco products taxes, which is a
proven way to save lives, prevent
kids from smoking and significant-
ly reduce health-care costs related
to tobacco use. 3) Kansas can
apply a portion of the taxes to the
CDC model tobacco prevention
and cessation programming. In-
creasing the tax is so critical be-
cause it deters kids from every
trying tobacco products.

Kansas Youth:

10.2% (16,300) of High school students smoke cigarettes *
13.2% of male high school students using smokeless (females use much
lower)*
2,900 Youth (under 18) become new, daily smokers each year*
4.9 million packs of cigarettes smoked by youth*

Kansas Adults:
20% (433,900) of Kansas adults smoke cigarettes *
9.8% of male Kansas adults currently use chewing tobacco, snuff or
dip.**
31% of adults who smoke have no high school diploma or GED**
37% of adults who smoke have low annual household incomes less than
$15,000**
35.5% of adults who smoke have no health insurance**
29.3% of adults who smoke rent living space**
In Kansas, 78% of smokers smoked an entire cigarette by age 18 and 97%
** pyage 26.**

*-Source of information: Campaign for Tobacco Free Kids

Deaths in Kansas
from Smoking

4,400 Kansas adults
die annually from
tobacco use illness.

61,000 Kansas
youth now under 18
and alive in Kansas
who will ultimately
die prematurely
from smoking.

** - Source of Information: State of Kansas, Adult Tobacco Survey (ATS) conducted September 2012-2013 by Bureau of Health

Promotion, Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

The cost that saves our kids: In the 2013 Surgeon General Report, it states that for each smoker who dies, there are two new,
younger replacement smokers. Of the youth under 18 and living in Kansas today, 61,000 will ultimately die prematurely from
smoking. That number is staggering. To put it in perspective, it is saying that a Kansas city with the population of Shawnee, KS
(Johnson County) disappears from the map! At what cost, Mr Chairman and members of the committee, our youth? We cannot
allow this trend to continue. Studies show that for every 10 percent increase in the price of cigarettes reduces youth smoking by
about 7 percent and overage cigarette consumption by about 4 percent.
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Taxation is way over due on cigarettes and other tobacco products. The cigarette tax has not been raised since 2002/2003 in
Kansas when it was raised to the current $0.79. The tax on other tobacco products has remained at 10% of the manufacturer’s
price since 1972—providing more than a 40-year tax break. Increasing the tax rate for these products to be in line with a $1.50
cigarette tax increase will help cut back on the sale of products that can serve as a gateway to cigarette addiction for youth.

Increased benefit for kids and lower-income smokers and families. It has been reported that smoking levels are highest among
people with low incomes, and the tobacco industry argues that cigarette tax increases are regressive taxes that fall disproportion-
ately hard on the lower-income persons. This argument turns reality upside down. Higher smoking rates among lower-income
groups means they are now suffering the most from smoking and will, consequently benefit the most from any effective measures
to reduce smoking, including increased state tobacco taxes. According to data from the Centers for Disease Control and Preven-
tion (CDC), we know that:
e Low-income smokers are much more likely to quit because of state tobacco tax increases than high-income smokers.
e State tobacco-tax increases shift the overall tobacco-tax burden more toward higher-income smokers. State cigarette tax in-
creases give many current smokers a “tax cut” by switching from premium to cheaper brands.
e  State tobacco-tax increases improve the health of low-income smokers and their families and reduce their related costs.
Weighing the fairness and health concerns, it becomes tough being a smoker. The tobacco tax is a user fee. The cry of “foul”
from the opposition because they call it a regressive tax...but one is reminded that each Kansas household pays $576 in state and
federal tax annually to cover health care costs of the smokers. Raising the tobacco tax requires smokers to pay a great share of
the costs that they incur by using tobacco...Could anything be fairer?

Monetary costs in Kansas.

$1.12 billion is spent annually on health care costs in Kansas caused by smoking

$196 million is the portion covered by the state Medicaid program

e S$576 per household is the Kansas resident’s state and federal tax burden from smoking cause government expenditures

e 5906 million is from smoking-caused productivity losses in Kansas

Amounts do not include health costs caused by exposure to secondhand smoke, smoking-caused fires, smokeless tobacco use, or
cigar and pipe smoking. Tobacco use also imposes additional costs such as workplace productivity losses and damage to property.

Tobacco Industry influence in Kansas. $8.8 billion is the annual tobacco industry market expenditures nationwide. It is estimat-
ed that $70.7 million is spent for Kansas marketing each year.

Kansas cigarette tax below national average ($1.54). Kansas is ranked 36th nationally in tobacco taxes and last raised its tobacco
taxes in 2002/03 and has not raised the other tobacco products taxes since the law’s inception in the early 1970’s. Minnesota just
raised their taxes to $2.38.

Kansas spending on tobacco use prevention programs. Kansas is 41st in the nation
in the amount of funding used for prevention program.

Please consider increasing tobacco price in Kansas. Tobacco Free Kansas Coalition’s

mission is to eliminate tobacco use among Kansans through advocacy, education $154.3 million $946,671
and collaboration. Science and experience have identified proven, cost-effective Tobacco Gener- $27.9 million A Ig g
strategies that prevent kids from starting to smoke and help smokers to quit, and ated Revenue |CDC Recommends ctual Spend-

protect everyone from secondhand smoke. Increasing pricing of cigarette and to- (FY2014) spending on To- ing on Tobacco

bacco products makes it too expensive for our Kansas youth, and give smokers an- bacco Prevention
other incentive to quit. The higher the tax, the more lives saved. Please consider (FY2014)

Prevention

increasing tobacco costs in Kansas. Thank you.

Joyce Cussimanio
Tobacco Free Kansas Coalition, President
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State Cigarette Tax Rates
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Kansas last cigarette tax changed in 2003;
Other Tobacco Products tax changed in
1972.

States that have not passed tax increases
since 2004 or earlier are bolded

State tax rates on
tobacco products other -
than cigarettes vary
greatly between states.




