
# State Session Length

1 Alabama

30 Legislative 

Sessions in 105 

Calender days

2 Kentucky
30 Legislative 

Day

3 Georgia

40 days, Odd 

Numbered years 

only

4 North Dakota

Not to Exceed 

80 days every 

two years

5 Wyoming

No more than 

60 legislative 

days in 2 years, 

no more than 40 

in one year

6 Utah

45 Calender 

days, excluding 

federal holidays

7 Arkansas 60 days

8 Florida
60 Consecutive 

Days

9 Hawaii
60 Days 

Consecutive

Section 36 of State Constitution

Article III, Section IV of State 

Constitution

Article IV, Section 7 of State 

Constitution

Article III, Sections 6 & 7

Special Sessions

Can be "called" by Governor 

for no more than 12 days, 

otherwise requires 2/3 majority 

vote of both chambers

No provisions allowed

No provisions allowed

None provided

Governor's Proclamation or 

2/3 vote of both legislative 

houses

Governor's Proclamation, not 

to exceed 30 days except in 

cases of impeachment

Article VI, Section 16 of state 

constitution

Article V, Section V of State Constitution

Article III, Section III of State 

Constitution

Article III, Section X of State 

Constitution

How is it Set

Article IV Section 48 of the State 

Constisution

Regular sessions in odd 

numbered years, fiscal session 

in even numbered years; 

extension allowed by 2/3 

majority vote in both houses

Called by Governor, no more 

than 20 consecutive days 

unless 3/5 vote reached in both 

houses

30 Days consecutive if written 

request is submitted by 2/3 of 

both houses, Governor can call 

back just Senate if requested



10 Indiana

Set byLaw, 

Even Years 

Adjourn by 

April 29, Odd 

years by March 

10

11 Louisiana

Odd Years: 45 

Legislative in 60 

Calender; Even 

Years 60 

Legislative in 85 

Calender

12 Minnesota

120 Legislative 

days every 2 

years

13 New Mexico

Odd Years, 

NTE 60 days; 

Even Years, 

NTE 30 Days

14 Texas
60 days every 

two years

15 Virginia

60 days in even 

years, 30 days 

in odd years

16 West Virginia

60 days, start 

date moves 

every fourth 

year

17 Mississippi

125 days every 

4 years, 90 days 

every other year

18 Missouri

145 days (stands 

adjourned on 

May 30th each 

year)

Governor's Proclamation, 

session not to exceed 30 days

Governor Proclamation

Article III, Section 5 of State Constitution

Article IV, Section 6 of State 

Constitution

Article VI, Section 22 of State 

Constitution

Article IV, Section 36 of State 

Constitution

Set by Law, enacted through Article IV, 

Section IX of State Consitution

Article II, Sections 3(a) and 4(a)

2/3 vote to extend by both 

houses

No provisions allowed

Can be called by Governor

Governor Proclamation or 

written request of 2/3 of both 

houses

No provisions allowed

Article II, Section 2, 2(a) and 2(b)

Article IV, Section 12 of State 

Constitution

Article IV, Section 5 of State 

Constitution

Governor Proclamation, not to 

exceed 30 Days

Called by 3/4 of members of 

both houses, sessions not to 

exceed 30 days



19 Kansas

Odd years: 

Unlimited  Even 

Years: 90 Days

20 Maryland 90 Days

21 Montana
90 days, every 

other year

22 Nebraska

Odd Years, 90 

Days; Even 

Years, 60 days

23 Nevada

NTE 120 

Calender days, 

90 Legislative in 

Odd Years, 30 

Legislative in 

Even Years

24 Oklahoma January-May

25 Tennessee

No set Limit, 

agrees to 

adjourn by joint 

resolution

26 Arizona 100 Calender

27 Washington

105 days in Odd 

Years, 60 days 

in even years

28 Iowa
No defined 

length (110 C?)

29 Alaska
120 Calender 

Days

Article V, Sections 26, 27, and 27(a)

Article III, Section 8 of State Constitution

Article IV, Part 1 Section 1, Part 2 

Section 3 for convening; Chamber rule 

for ending on Saturday after 100th 

Article II, Section 8 of the State 

Constitution

Article III, Sections 14 & 15

Article V, Section 6 of State Constitution

Article III, Section 10 of State 

Constitution

Article IV, Section 2 of State 

Constitution

Limit of days can be 

overridden by 2/3 vote in both 

chambers

By Governor Proclamation 

lasting not more than 30 days

Governor Proclamation or 

majority of members of 

Governor Proclamation, 

Article IV, Section 8

Governor Proclamation or 

written petition by members of 

house

Governor Proclamation, 2/3 

vote by both houses

Article II, Section 12 of State 

Constitution

Amendment 24 and 36 to State 

Constitution

Article II, Section 8 of the State 

Constitution

Governor's Proclamation

Called by Governor, cannot 

include legislation not relevant 

to the call

Governor's Proclamation or 

2/3 vote of both legislative 

houses

Can be called by Governor 

Proclamation or 2/3 vote in 

both houses

can be extended 10 days by 

2/3 vote of both houses



30 Connecticut

odd: 1st 

Wednesday in 

January    Even: 

1st Monday in 

February    Odd: 

First Monday in 

June   Even: 

First 

Wednesday in 

May

31 Colorado NTE 128 days

32 Idaho

No Limit, has 

not exceeded 5 

months in last 5 

years

33 Oregon

160 calender 

days odd years, 

35 calender 

days even years

34 Delaware

Begins second 

week in  

January, not to 

exceed end of 

June

35 Massachusetts Year Long

36 Michigan

Set by 

Concurrent 

Resolution

37
New 

Hampshire
Year Long

38 New Jersey

Year Long, may 

be adjourned 

sine die

39 Ohio Year Long

40 Pennsylvania Year Long

41 Rhode Island Year Long

Article IV, Section 13 of State 

Constitution

Article III of State Constitution

Article IV Section I of State Constitution

Article II, Section 9 of State Constitution

Article II, Section 4 of State Constitution

Article VI, Section 3

Article III in State Constitution

Aticle V, Section 7 of State Constitution

Article III, Section III of State 

Constitution

Article IV, Section 10

Article II, Section 4

Amendment to Article X in State 

Special Sessions may be called 

by Governor and approved by 

Chambers

By Proclamation of the 

Governor

May extend by 5 days with 

vote of 2/3 of both houses

Called by Governor, or 

leadership of both houses

None Needed

Governor Proclamation

No provisions allowed

Governor Proclamation if 

adjourned sine die

Governor Proclamation

Governor's Proclamation in 

public interest

None Specified



42 South Carolina Year Long

43 South Dakota Year Long

44 Vermont
Bienniel, odd 

years; 

45 California 2 years

46 Illinois
No limits 

defined

47 Maine
No defined 

length

48 New York
No Time limit 

enumerated

49 North Carolina

2 Year Sessions, 

begins in odd 

years

50 Wisconsin

Set by 

legislature 2 

years at a time

Article III, Section 10 and 18

Article II, Section 11 of State 

Constitution

Article IV, Section 11 of State 

Constitution

Start time set by State Constitution, 

length set by legislature during session

Article IV, Section 3

Article IV, Section V of State 

Constitution

Article IV, Part 3rd Section I of State 

Constitution

Article III, Section 9 of State Constitution

Article III, Section VII of State 

Constitution

2/3 written request of members 

of both houses

Governor's Proclamation or 

2/3 vote of both legislative 

houses

None Specified

None offered

Special Sessions can be called 

by the governor

No provisions allowed

Governor Proclamation or 

written request of majority of 

both parties  having been 

polled

2/3 majority written request of 

Chambers

None Specified


